The Resource The wonders : a novel, Paddy O'Reilly

The wonders : a novel, Paddy O'Reilly

Label
The wonders : a novel
Title
The wonders
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Paddy O'Reilly
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"From the author of the "funny, irreverent, and highly entertaining" (Liane Moriarty, author of The Husband's Secret) Fine Color of Rust comes a brilliant new novel about a misfit trio who become instant international reality stars, probing the nature of celebrity, disability, and the value of human life. Perhaps every human being was a freak. Hadn't he read somewhere that every person has at least a handful of damaged genes? That all humans embody a myriad of nature's mistakes? Meet Leon (stage name: Clockwork Man), a nervous, introverted thirty-year-old man with a brass heart; Kathryn (stage name: Lady Lamb), a brash, sexy woman covered almost entirely with black, tightly furled wool; and Christos (stage name: Seraphiel), a vain performance artist who plays a winged god with the help of ceramic implants inserted between his shoulder blades. These are The Wonders, three extraordinary people whose medical treatments have tested the limits of the human body. When they are brought together by a canny entrepreneur, their glamorous, genre-defying, twenty-first-century circus act becomes a global sensation. But what makes them objects of fascination also places them in danger. With warmth, humor, and astonishing insight, Paddy O'Reilly has written a wonderful novel that will appeal to fans of Sara Gruen's Ape House, Karen Joy Fowler's We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, and Teddy Wayne's The Love Song of Jonny Valentine--or anyone who's ever questioned the nature of fame, our kinship with the animal kingdom, and the delicate balancing act of life and death"--
Related Authorities
  • WnSe0fCY9T4
  • CQIedGM18xs
  • DIwqZiy7zeI
  • TiAfemD9ZvE
  • WWuKVtj9V1M
  • ayoZvgP4FQk
  • ewE8vBgB30Y
  • SCOjNxWzkHA
  • xxuPbFHukl4
  • g9QZrDnneWI
  • VL8cJXwPOAM
  • 6wbSbk8kFY0
Related Subjects
  • c6Ss49wULxA
  • X63OFegBoyI
  • uPHPtNiDZuQ
  • dAfGdF8n8Uc
  • yJmMA3xlg2o
  • 8pnCIiKEToU
  • yShmCHjgvCU
  • TLokNfVhFfM
  • hEEEYEmZZvY
  • e_K70FWyvXA
  • kkP3f1M-wic
Related Context
  • No1JVDc0isU
  • FQi5cwXRVVg
  • sZIRM2Mexhs
  • 3lpTyBJpivk
  • mz7eSrqYHK8
  • 8NCTfanLh4M
Related by recommendation
  • ukev5W6k33Y
  • orvZkZumhD8
  • -dFr3HixSmA
  • jWy-dP02Xe0
  • skPC4XQPmKQ
  • 9bawtYZw7Mc
  • bzMaFr_HK6Q
  • lHo94WjwpMw
  • v7-Qh0uTlSA
  • EOlLsryBrTo
  • E4kVNrfnNHI
  • _b1zcrvHYM4
  • XR5rcTpXPps
  • B5bZgrLXFyc
  • ySjNBU5nI10
  • kjFT1QHD2co
  • ZfTB5iVyOrY
  • porr9_CAtvY
  • p8h-gWncn8s
  • IHJ_jM4WrJw
  • s_dRi0okYv0
  • xILuW71Ah78
  • 4ngHHuu8uyQ
  • Va9muA79C7Y
  • 7-3nDbpM8Zs
  • netapr4ieMU
  • GrWWcqiZl0o
  • iRP85x3etUw
  • 6q7QfhCy9sg
  • X14B1e-I-YI
Title
The wonders
Creator
Summary
With warmth, humor, and astonishing insight, Paddy O’Reilly has written a wonderful novel that will appeal to fans of Sara Gruen’s Ape House, Karen Joy Fowler’s We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, and Teddy Wayne’sThe Love Song of Jonny Valentine—or anyone who’s ever questioned the nature of fame, our kinship with the animal kingdom, and the delicate balancing act of life and death
Subject
Genre
Story line
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10401365
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9619.4.O74
LC item number
W66 2015
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Paddy O'Reilly
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleVariation
wonders
The wonders : a novel, Paddy O'Reilly
Label
The wonders : a novel, Paddy O'Reilly
Publication
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?type=xw12&client=dougp&isbn=9781476766362&upc=&oclc=ocn883147791/LC.JPG
Dimensions
21 cm
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'lt': 'https://dcl.bibliocommons.com/item/show/1253078114'}
Edition
First Atria paperback edition.
Extent
279 pages
Isbn
9781476766362
Isbn Type
(softcover : acid-free paper)
Lccn
2014018895
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Note
cat13rev
System control number
  • ocn883147791
  • (OCoLC)883147791

Library Locations

    • Douglas County Libraries, Lone TreeBorrow it
      10055 Library Way, Lone Tree, CO, 80124, US
      39.533569 -104.881522
Processing Feedback ...