The Resource Dimestore, Lee Smith

Dimestore, Lee Smith

Label
Dimestore
Title
Dimestore
Statement of responsibility
Lee Smith
Title variation
  • Dime-store
  • Dimestore
Title variation remainder
a writer's life
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Set deep in the mountains of Virginia, the Grundy of Lee Smith's youth was a place of coal miners, tent revivals, mountain music, drive-in theaters, and her daddy's dimestore. It was in that dimestore--listening to customers and inventing adventures for the store's dolls--that she became a storyteller. Even when she was sent off to college to earn some 'culture,' she understood that perhaps the richest culture she might ever know was the one she was driving away from--and it's a place that she never left behind"--Dust jacket flap
Related Authorities
  • lChgh81zc8s
  • cAM8cdICdpg
  • CLUxYTtGNpo
  • 35oEKkcY9hs
  • 8BoiAfoR1Jo
  • yeM8ZWL356Q
  • WOuoVOggRTI
  • Qy-ZyDcq7LM
  • F4Ne-D2Ltlo
  • yeM8ZWL356Q
  • Kkshc8QIHZw
  • lChgh81zc8s
Related Subjects
  • kUhwNqxQRWE
  • u4aWnfOdtvQ
  • HRGC_q9DF68
  • WGS8NrsCsd0
  • xVmRmKiIzBw
  • _7xSDCVnMao
  • sqCzgOs8uG8
Related Context
E-K52gUWDjA
Related by recommendation
  • lr8kKgzYTYE
  • YHGiZwsAycg
  • Ntwltvvx26c
  • y0cP-IGW_44
  • Xgp_NPDXi0c
  • _TreVXagPl0
  • NPzLzDcJ-3I
  • AroiCEaYrts
  • 5_yepXjI-CM
  • RlMHXfC_Avs
  • leJ51xAdqAw
  • ntp7MHqGRr4
  • PjWHLKBovdg
  • HO7SPFWOxEE
  • jqykxx6HA-s
  • E36zatDzASg
  • PyQGPi_rr8A
  • PW3hD2OGrJ8
  • JUfEeDcs3Fw
  • mYbvSqkqeCE
  • cUavfEtTq2U
  • LXaQnz4beVg
  • BNZvy6ImKwk
  • AmboyRpZWf0
  • Mm68cgMoybI
  • VrxNmqC4i0I
  • bMQNDMBSfEQ
  • UCohUCw49RE
  • a6p4CE65hhw
  • LOd1rlqp3FA
Title
Dimestore
Creator
Summary
Evenly divided between a book about Smith’s process and her life, first as a Southern mountain child and, later, as the parent of a schizophrenic child, this book is interesting and compelling. Despite being surrounded by loving family and being blessed with an active imagination, Lee copes with a mentally ill mother. Later, her son’s mental illness and early death brings her to the breaking point but she is saved by her writing. This is a read-alike for Karr’s The Liars Club. It desperately needs a cinematic translation for it’s elegant and evocative writing. -- Lois Gross for LibraryReads
Subject
Genre
Writing style
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2016
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10473102
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
  • 813/.54
  • B
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3569.M5376
LC item number
Z46 2016
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a writer's life
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleRemainder
a writer's life
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Lee Smith
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleVariation
Dimestore
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleVariationRemainder
a writers life
Dimestore, Lee Smith
Label
Dimestore, Lee Smith
Publication
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Raised to leave : some thoughts on "culture" -- Dimestore -- Recipe box -- Kindly nervous -- Lady lessons -- Marble cake and moonshine -- Big river -- On Lou's porch -- Lightning storm -- Driving Miss Daisy crazy, or, Losing the mind of the South -- Good-bye to the sunset man -- Blue heaven -- A life in books -- Angels passing -- The little locksmith
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?type=xw12&client=dougp&isbn=9781616205027&upc=&oclc=ocn911255341/LC.JPG
Dimensions
22 cm
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'cr': 'https://dcl.bibliocommons.com/item/show/1314579114', 'hi': 'https://dcl.bibliocommons.com/item/show/1314579114'}
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xix, 202 pages
Isbn
9781616205027
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2015023739
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • ocn911255341
  • (OCoLC)911255341

Library Locations

    • Douglas County Libraries, Philip S. MillerBorrow it
      100 S. Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, CO, 80104, US
      39.3681268 -104.8590461
    • Douglas County Libraries, James H LarueBorrow it
      9292 S. Ridgeline Blvd., Highlands Ranch, CO, 80129, US
      39.5467303 -104.9960252
Processing Feedback ...